The Color of Heaven by Kim Dong Hwa

The Color of HeavenBlurb: As Ehwa grew from a girl to a young woman in The Color of Earth and The Color of Water, she began to understand and experience love and relationships, with her mother as a model and confidante.  Now, in the heartwarming conclusion to this lyrically written and delicately drawn trilogy, Ehwa’s true love comes at last, and as her mother looks on, she takes the final steps towards becoming an adult.

In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manhwa creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a girl’s coming of age story, set in the vibrant pastoral landscape of Korea.

4 out of 5 stars

What I Thought: This is the final book in the Color trilogy. It has a wonderful ending. Ehwa finally knows what love is about. She had several challenges along the way. She is older and learning many new and exiting things. She sees some old friends. So, I hope you like this book as much as I do.

Related Reviews:

The Color of Water by Kim Dong Hwa

The Color of WaterBlurb: When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who’s eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam away and asks for Ehwa’s hand in marriage himself It is then that Ehwa discovers the pain of heartbreak – and that love is always complicated.

3 out of 5 stars

What I Thought: Ehwa is starting to grow up and feeling things she has never felt before. Her mother helps her along they way with becoming a woman and love. I really like this book. There is some romance in this book, which I enjoyed.

Related Reviews:

The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa

The Color of Earth

Blurb: Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers – look down on her mother for her single lifestyle.  Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village.  But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life.

3 out of 5 stars

What I Thought: This book is mostly about kids discovering their body. They are learning about love. Ehwa gets a flower from a boy and she admires it. Whenever she sees the flower her heart is fills with love. I felt uncomfortable when the kids explored their and other’s bodies.

Related Reviews:

Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Walking Disaster (Beautiful, #2)

Blurb: Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster. Can you love someone too much?
Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

CKI was really excited to start reading this book. Usually when I read a book about people falling in love and it’s just in the girls point of view I get kind of mad. I want to know what I guy is thinking at certain points. When I read this book I thought it was great. Even though most of it was a repeat from Beautiful Disasters there was still some new things. I also liked how the author didn’t end the book at the same part. She went a little further into their lives and I really enjoyed seeing how their live was turning out. I can’t wait until she writes about Travis’ brothers.

4stars

Untitled-1 I was very excited when CK told me this novel was completely in Travis’ point of view. I really liked Travis and I wanted to know what he really felt like through the story. However, a times I got bored or nervous because I already knew what the main events were. The epilogue was awesome because it went farther than the first book. Honestly, I don’t think this needed to be a whole book.

Read Via: Paperback book (own it)

Read February 25, 2014 — March 4, 2014

4 stars

Related Reviews:

Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles

Chain Reaction (Perfect Chemistry, #3)

Blurb: Like his brothers, Luis Fuentes is a risk taker; whether he’s scaling the Rocky Mountains or dreaming of a future as an astronaut, Luis is always looking for the next thrill.

Nikki Cruz lives her life by certain rules ― don’t trust a boy who says “I love you”, boys lie to get their own way and never date a boy from the south side of Fairfield. Then she meets Luis at his brother Alex’s wedding and suddenly she’s tempted to break all her rules.

Getting Nikki to give him a chance is Luis’s biggest challenge, until he finds himself targeted by the head of the gang that nearly destroyed his brothers’ lives. Will Luis’s feelings for Nikki be enough to stop him from entering a dark and violent world that could prove to be the ultimate risk?

What I Think: This was a good book. I really liked this series even though when I read the fist book I didn’t think I would finish the series because I loved Alex and Brittany as the main characters. But I had too many series going on and I needed to finish them so I got the second book from my library and liked it. Since there was only one book left in the series to read I said the heck with it and read it. I’m glad that I decided to finish this series. I liked seeing the brothers grow up and fall in love even with all the problems in between. I also liked how they brought back the other characters so you could see what they were up to. I can’t wait to be able to buy this series in hardback so I can have them for when I want to read something good.

4stars

Related Reviews:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Wallflower

Synopsis: For the majority of the book Charlie is a freshman in high school. He tells his story via letters to someone who is never really identified. He changes everyone’s name (or so he says) to keep from the person from figuring out who his is. He really doesn’t have any friends until he meets Patrick and Sam, who open up a whole world things to him.

3 stars

Read Via: Paperback Book (own it)

My Thoughts: Please ignore my horrible Photoshopping skills. Patrick was just too tall… Anyway, this story takes place from 1991 to 1992. I thought it feel like it was actually set much later in time. Since, I was born in 1990, I guess I really have no way of really knowing what a certain year felt like. This book is kind of crazy, but in a good way. The whole story was completely different than I thought it would be, but I was just going off the trailer of the movie. I was worried I won’t be able to get clear view of the other characters since it was written in a letter format, but the author does a really good job of including all the other characters.

Read March 20, 2013 — March 27, 2013

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped PajamasSynopsis: This story takes place in 1942 Germany. Bruno’s father receives a promotion within the German military and the family is forced to move to accommodate his new position. Eight year old Bruno does not like this move because he left all he knew behind. His friends, grandparents, and his beloved town are all far away. The new home is nothing like his old one. Everything is of less quality. There are no children near by from him to play with. Over time, he explores the house and the surrounding woods. During one adventure, he reaches the fence he can see from his bedroom window. As luck would have it, someone is near the fence on the other side. A chance encounter changes their lives. A unknown (to the boys) forbidden friendship is born between a son of a Nazi officer and a Jewish boy.

4 stars

Read Via: Kindle (own it)

My Thoughts: First, I saw the movie and thought it was really interesting. When I found out it was based off a book, I knew I had to read it. I believe this is considered a children’s book, even though the ideas and what is going on is very serious. It is told from eight year old Bruno’s point of view. He sees things that he does not understand, but we as readers probably do. This is an excellent story to illustrate that children do not have the same views of the world as adults. When Bruno sees Shmuel, he sees a boy just like himself. For the most part, the movie follows the book fairly well. However, the ending in the book is different. I like the ending in the movie much better. The same thing happened basically, but the reactions from the parents and his sister are … melodramatic.

Read September 17, 2012 — September 25, 2012

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still Alice

Synopsis: A Harvard professor, Alice Howland, is at the peak of her professional career. Slowly, she starts to noticed that she is forgetting things. Like where she lives. Startled with events like that, she makes an appointment with her doctor. She finds out she is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s. This book goes along the process and struggle Alice and her family go through.

3 stars

Read Via: Paperback Book (library)

My Thoughts: This book is very different from what I normally read. Since I work with the older population, this was very educational since it was from another point of view. The book included a lot of details.  Some parts were heart wrenching. This one is a real eye-opener.