The Only Boy by Jordan Locke

The Only BoyBlurb: Mary is stuck in Section One, living with three hundred women in a crumbling hospital. She wonders what life was like two centuries ago, before the Cleansing wiped out all the men. But the rules—the Matriarch’s senseless rules—prevent her from exploring the vacant city to find out.

1 starRead Via: Paperback (own it … for now)

My Thoughts: I had really high hopes for this book. It sounded interesting and I liked the concept. I had to force myself to finish the book. The consistent switch from character perspectives (both in the first person) was really confusing. A lot of the actions did not make sense. Character development was extremely poor. Even though the perspective was in the first person, the true feelings of the characters was not clear.

Read September 12, 2014 — September 24, 2014

Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

Through the Ever NightBlurb: It’s been months since Aria last saw Perry. Months since Perry was named Blood Lord of the Tides, and Aria was charged with an impossible mission. Now, finally, they are about to be reunited. But their reunion is far from perfect. The Tides don’t take kindly to Aria, a former Dweller. And with the worsening Aether storms threatening the tribe’s precarious existence, Aria begins to fear that leaving Perry behind might be the only way to save them both. Threatened by false friends and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night?

4 stars

Listened to Via: Audiobook (library)

My Thoughts: So much action! I am loving this trilogy more and more! I think all the events are tying together nicely. The emotions and connects with the characters is stronger. I simply cannot wait to start the final book.

Read September 10, 2014 — September 22, 2014

Related Reviews:

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never SkyBlurb: Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland—known as The Death Shop—are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild—a savage—and her only hope of staying alive.

5 stars

Read Via: Audiobook (library)

My Thoughts: I really like this book! I love the plot, characters, pacing, and the action. It was really hard for me to just listen to this in my car, or leave my car because I wanted to know what was going to happen! I think Perry is going to be one of my favorite characters and fictional crush.

Each chapter switch perspective, which I think was done very well. I really got a good understanding of what each character was feeling and thinking. However, it was not always spoon feed. Also, I liked how not everything was made into a big deal.

At first, as always, I was not sure if I was going to like the narrator (Bernadetta Dunne Flagler). That quickly passed. I really like how she read the novel. Some parts were annoying, but overall I enjoyed her reading.

Read August 25, 2014 — September 9, 2014

Related Reviews:

 

One Man Guy by Michael Barakiva

One Man Guy

Blurb: One Man Guy is a romantic, moving, laugh-out-loud-funny story about what happens when one person creaks open your world and helps you see everything — and, most of all, yourself — like you never have before.

3 stars

Read Via: Hardback book (own it)

My Thoughts: I liked how this book was about people of different cultures. I am not sure if all the information given was true, but it was still interesting to read about. However, I had a hard time with the different foods and stuff because I had to look up a bunch of the stuff. That was just so I could get an idea of how things looked in the story.

I might have enjoyed it more if the characters were closer to my age, but it was nice reading about kids going through a awkward time in their life. I feel like this could have been longer. I liked both of the main characters.

August 30, 2014 — September 3, 2014

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Blurb: Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

4 stars

Read Via: Hardback book (library)

My Thoughts: This was a really interesting story. I do not think I mentioned before, but I used to write fanfictions when I was 15-18 or so. They were anime fanfictions, but I read countless others (like Harry Potter!). I loved it, and I still enjoy reading them.

I felt like I really connected with Cath. The way in reacts to things and how she feels is similar to myself. I think I am not as attached to Harry Potter as the other people who may have read this novel. Yeah, I read it as it was coming out and I liked it …. but I dunno.

This book was super adorable. I really like how their relationship evolved. I feel like their story could have continued. There were some parts that I did not like, but they were far and few in between. I will be look into her other books!

Read August 22, 2014 —  August 29, 2014

 

The Color of Heaven by Kim Dong Hwa

The Color of HeavenBlurb: As Ehwa grew from a girl to a young woman in The Color of Earth and The Color of Water, she began to understand and experience love and relationships, with her mother as a model and confidante.  Now, in the heartwarming conclusion to this lyrically written and delicately drawn trilogy, Ehwa’s true love comes at last, and as her mother looks on, she takes the final steps towards becoming an adult.

In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manhwa creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a girl’s coming of age story, set in the vibrant pastoral landscape of Korea.

4 out of 5 stars

What I Thought: This is the final book in the Color trilogy. It has a wonderful ending. Ehwa finally knows what love is about. She had several challenges along the way. She is older and learning many new and exiting things. She sees some old friends. So, I hope you like this book as much as I do.

Related Reviews:

The Color of Water by Kim Dong Hwa

The Color of WaterBlurb: When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who’s eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam away and asks for Ehwa’s hand in marriage himself It is then that Ehwa discovers the pain of heartbreak – and that love is always complicated.

3 out of 5 stars

What I Thought: Ehwa is starting to grow up and feeling things she has never felt before. Her mother helps her along they way with becoming a woman and love. I really like this book. There is some romance in this book, which I enjoyed.

Related Reviews:

The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa

The Color of Earth

Blurb: Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers – look down on her mother for her single lifestyle.  Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village.  But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life.

3 out of 5 stars

What I Thought: This book is mostly about kids discovering their body. They are learning about love. Ehwa gets a flower from a boy and she admires it. Whenever she sees the flower her heart is fills with love. I felt uncomfortable when the kids explored their and other’s bodies.

Related Reviews:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Wallflower

Synopsis: For the majority of the book Charlie is a freshman in high school. He tells his story via letters to someone who is never really identified. He changes everyone’s name (or so he says) to keep from the person from figuring out who his is. He really doesn’t have any friends until he meets Patrick and Sam, who open up a whole world things to him.

3 stars

Read Via: Paperback Book (own it)

My Thoughts: Please ignore my horrible Photoshopping skills. Patrick was just too tall… Anyway, this story takes place from 1991 to 1992. I thought it feel like it was actually set much later in time. Since, I was born in 1990, I guess I really have no way of really knowing what a certain year felt like. This book is kind of crazy, but in a good way. The whole story was completely different than I thought it would be, but I was just going off the trailer of the movie. I was worried I won’t be able to get clear view of the other characters since it was written in a letter format, but the author does a really good job of including all the other characters.

Read March 20, 2013 — March 27, 2013