Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska'Blurb: Miles “Pudge” Halter is abandoning his safe-okay, boring-life. Fascinated by the last words of famous people, Pudge leaves for boarding school to seek what a dying Rabelais called the “Great Perhaps.”

Pudge becomes encircled by friends whose lives are everything but safe and boring. Their nucleus is razor-sharp, sexy, and self-destructive Alaska, who has perfected the arts of pranking and evading school rules. Pudge falls impossibly in love. When tragedy strikes the close-knit group, it is only in coming face-to-face with death that Pudge discovers the value of living and loving unconditionally.

3 stars

Read Via: Hardback book (own it)

My Thoughts: In all honesty, I have mixed feelings about this book. They are not feelings of dislike. I am just not sure how I can take this book.

I think my problem is that I do not feel connected to the story. I never really did any crazy things in high school (or college for that matter). I cannot say too much more because I don’t want to spoil it.

It almost seems like I am missing something. Like the ending dwindled down, and I missed the main point. Maybe I already understood the message John Green was trying to say. I don’t know.

This was recommended by mahraalhosani.

Read September 4, 2014 — September 11, 2014

 

Reviews of Other John Green Books:

 

Leave a Reply

