War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

War of the Worlds

Blurb: Man had not yet learned to fly when H.G. Wells conceived this story of a Martian attack on England. Giant cylinders crash to Earth, disgorging huge, unearthly creatures armed with heat-rays and fighting machines. Amid the boundless destruction they cause, it looks as if the end of the world has come.

4 stars

Read Via: Kindle (library)

My Thoughts: For some reason, I had a hard time really getting into this book. I liked it, but I just had trouble staying focused. I believe it would have been amazing to read this novel when it was published in 1897. I took from this book several different things. It reminded me that humans are horribly unkind (putting it lightly) to other animals. This was pointed out in the book, and I think more people need to realize this. Also, I realized that life as we know it can change in a snap. We need to appreciate the present.

Read June 17, 2014 — June 30, 2014

Leave a Reply

