I Am Legend by Richard Matheson

I am Legend

Blurb: Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth…but he is not alone. Every other man, woman, and child on Earth has become a vampire, and they are all hungry for Neville’s blood.

By day, he is the hunter, stalking the sleeping undead through the abandoned ruins of civilization. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for dawn.

How long can one man survive in a world of vampires? (goodreads)

4 stars

Listened to Via: Audiobook (library)

My Thoughts: This story is only about 160 pages, but is very good. There is so much detail put into the story. The movie is quite different but I still love both. This book is very sad though. You follow Neville along in his struggles. I laughed some because some parts were just funny, but in a different way.

I listened to the one read by Robertson Dean. At first, the audio seemed old and Roberston seemed boring. I quickly got used to it. He did a decent job in my opinion. All of the women characters sounded the same though, but it was fine since there were like two.

Listened to February 23, 2014 — February 26, 2014

4 thoughts on “I Am Legend by Richard Matheson

    • Thank you. This was the first book I have read of his. I will definitely be looking at his other works. Do you recommend any in particular?

      • Hellhouse is quite good, although not, IMO, up to the level of Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House – although I’m not sure there’s much that is. The Incredible Shrinking Man collection is great, as it includes Duel, and the titular novella. He also wrote a few Twilight Zone episodes that are excellent.

Leave a Reply

