The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

61X8Fm+B1JLBlurb: Few children’s classics can match the charm and originality of Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden, the unforgettable story of sullen, sulky Mary Lennox, “the most disagreeable-looking child ever seen.” When a cholera epidemic leaves her as an orphan, Mary is sent to England to live with her reclusive uncle, Archibald Craven, at Misselthwaite Manor. Unloved and unloving, Mary wanders the desolate moors until one day she chances upon the door of a secret garden. What follows is one of the most beautiful tales of transformation in children’s literature, as Mary her sickly and tyrannical cousin Colin and a peasant boy named Dickson secretly strive to make the garden bloom once more. (goodreads)

4 stars

Listened to Via: Audio CD (library)

My Thoughts:  Unlike the last classic novel I listened to, A Christmas Carol, I had no idea what this story was about. At first, I disliked Mary and the accents. However, all the characters grew on me and I began to love the Yorkshire accent (not too sure how accurate it really is) that Finola Hughes produces. I actually have trouble getting it out of my head. Though some of story can be seen as silly, especially near the end, I think it sends a good message for children. There are many moments within the story that I cheered and laughed.

Listened to January 27, 2014 — January 31, 2014

Leave a Reply

