The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Wallflower

Synopsis: For the majority of the book Charlie is a freshman in high school. He tells his story via letters to someone who is never really identified. He changes everyone’s name (or so he says) to keep from the person from figuring out who his is. He really doesn’t have any friends until he meets Patrick and Sam, who open up a whole world things to him.

3 stars

Read Via: Paperback Book (own it)

My Thoughts: Please ignore my horrible Photoshopping skills. Patrick was just too tall… Anyway, this story takes place from 1991 to 1992. I thought it feel like it was actually set much later in time. Since, I was born in 1990, I guess I really have no way of really knowing what a certain year felt like. This book is kind of crazy, but in a good way. The whole story was completely different than I thought it would be, but I was just going off the trailer of the movie. I was worried I won’t be able to get clear view of the other characters since it was written in a letter format, but the author does a really good job of including all the other characters.

Read March 20, 2013 — March 27, 2013

3 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

      • I think many people can relate to Charlie and that the issues he faces are common among people his age (even those who aren’t). I think this book successfully conveys the troubles of a teen first starting high school- no matter the time, being a freshman is often hard and emotionally nerve-wracking- and its difficulties-not to mention the buried issues dealing with his Aunt.

        Sorry for such a late reply.

Leave a Reply

