The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Help

Synopsis: During the 1960’s there was still strong segregation between black and white people. Black people were treated unfairly. This book focuses on Aibileen, a maid who works for the Leefolt family. Maids in this area and time were expected to raise and care for the children of the household as well as cleaning and other things. However, they were not treated with any respect, even though they were raising someone else’s children. With in this book, an almost unplanned group effort starts to change people’s views.

3 stars

Read Via: Kindle on iPad & Kindle (own it)

My Thoughts: The movie focused on Skeeter, but the book was more about Aibileen (I read the book first). Anyway, this book opened my eyes to something I didn’t think had ever happened. I live in a northern state, so it was hard to understand how people thought. The book was interesting. I do not remember why I gave it three stars, but I believe it had something to do with the ending. I am not too sure.

Read June 5, 2012 — June 12, 2012

One thought on “The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Leave a Reply

